If you’ve just been in an accident in the state of Utah, you might be wondering if Utah is a no-fault state.
Since there are only a dozen or so states with the no-fault law, you’ll likely want to brush up on what states use the no-fault insurance system and how it applies to Utah.
Continue reading to learn more about how no-fault insurance works.
What is a No-Fault Insurance?
No-fault insurance or personal injury protection coverage is a type of car insurance that will pay for your medical expenses if you have been injured in a car accident. According to ValuePenguin, the reason for getting this type of coverage would be to “save on expensive litigation costs that can occur when two parties are trying to prove fault in the other party.” In no-fault states, drivers must have personal injury protection coverage, limiting what they can sue other drivers for.
Personal Injury Coverage vs. Liability Insurance
If you’re familiar with liability coverage, it may sound similar. The significant difference is that liability insurance covers you if at fault and will be paid out to the other driver to cover their expenses. With no-fault insurance or personal injury protection, you are covered under your insurance for any of your medical expenses. Meaning you’ll make your injury insurance claim to your insurer rather than the other party’s insurance company.
Utah’s No-Fault Law
Utah is one of the 12 states with the label “no-fault state.” There is no blanket personal injury protection coverage requirement or tort threshold for all the no-fault states, but instead, it is decided upon by each individual state. In Utah, you are required to have personal injury protection coverage of at least $3,000. $3,000 is also the tort threshold in the state of Utah.
So, what exactly does that mean for Utah drivers? It means that when you insure your car, you must make sure that your insurance also has personal injury protection that will cover at least $3,000 of your medical bills if you sustain any injuries in a car crash. The $3,000 tort threshold refers to the amount of money that your medical bills must cost before you can sue the other party for more money to cover medical expenses. For example, suppose you sustain an injury in a car accident where you’re not at fault, and the total of your medical bills are over $3,000, you can sue for the remaining amount. However, if you’re medical bills are under $3,000, your insurance will cover it, and you won’t be able to bring a suit against the at-fault driver for your medical expenses.
There are particular circumstances in which you can automatically take legal action against the at-fault driver, whether not you meet the tort threshold. Here are the injuries that fit the “injury threshold”:
- Permanent disability
- Permanent impairment
- Permanent disfigurement
Other Losses in a No-Fault State
Even in a no-fault state like Utah, there are still other financial losses that can occur as a result of a car accident. Suppose you are looking for compensation for more than medical expenses, such as pain and suffering, lost wages, and personal property damage. In that case, you must reach the injury threshold or the monetary threshold of $3,000, as referenced in the previous section.
Flickinger Sutterfield & Boulton Car Accident & Personal Injury Lawyers
If you’ve been in a car accident in Utah, a no-fault state, and you require additional financial compensation, contact Flickinger Sutterfield and Boulton. With multiple offices in Northern Utah, we serve anyone from Provo to Salt Lake City. Our lawyers have over 25 years of experience in helping Utah citizens gain fair compensation for their injuries. Contact us today for a free evaluation.