If you have been injured in an automobile accident in the state of Utah, it is important to understand how personal injury protection insurance works. This type of insurance is only required in about a dozen states, with Utah being one of them.
Keep reading to learn more about the no-fault insurance system and how it applies to Utah.
What is Personal Injury Protection?
Personal injury protection (PIP) is also known as “no-fault insurance”. It is a component of an automobile insurance plan that helps cover medical expenses related to injuries sustained from a car accident. This can include expenditures such as medical bills, ambulance fees, lost wages, rehabilitation, or burial costs. Regardless of who is at fault for the accident, PIP insurance extends to the driver as well as any injured passengers in the vehicle.
What States Require PIP?
Personal injury protection is not legally required unless you live in one of the following 13 states or territories:
- New Jersey
- New York
- North Dakota
- Puerto Rico (also known as compulsory liability insurance or CLI)
How Does PIP Insurance Work in Utah?
Since PIP is required in Utah, it is critical to understand how it works. According to Utah Code, drivers are required to have at least $3,000 of personal injury protection insurance in addition to liability coverage. If drivers want further protection, they can typically purchase it from their insurer. The minimum plan provides coverage for:
- $3,000 of medical expenses
- $3,000 in death benefits to heirs
- $1,500 in burial costs per deceased person
- 85 percent of lost income, up to $250 per week
- Up to $20 per day as a special allowance for household services
How to File a PIP Claim
If you have been injured in a car accident, reach out to your insurance provider to report the collision and file a claim. You can confirm the amount of coverage your PIP insurance provides with your adjuster. The adjuster will also begin a PIP application and ask for specific documentation throughout the process. If you were injured as a pedestrian or bicyclist, turn to the at-fault driver’s insurance for coverage.
Utah’s No-Fault Law
Most no-fault states restrict your ability to sue the other party unless damages reach a certain tort threshold. In Utah, the tort threshold amount is $3,000. For example, if your medical bills from injuries sustained in a car accident exceed $3,000, you can sue for the remaining amount. If expenses are under $3,000, your insurance will cover them.
There are a few particular circumstances that allow you to take legal action against the at-fault driver whether or not you meet the tort threshold. These injuries include:
- Permanent disability
- Permanent impairment
- Permanent disfigurement
Flickinger Sutterfield & Boulton Is Here to Help
Now that you understand how personal injury protection insurance works, reach out to Flickinger Sutterfield & Boulton for assistance in making your claim. We understand how stressful a motor vehicle accident can be and are ready to find a solution for your unique needs. Our team has over 25 years of experience assisting Utah citizens to recover financially after a car accident occurs.
We have offices in Provo, Orem, Saratoga Springs, and West Jordan, Utah. Give us a call today to get in touch with a car accident lawyer that will be by your side every step of the way.